Underwater Adventures – Jamaica

What’s a trip to the Caribbean without a little snorkelling? Yah man!

Jamaica’s waters are very much alive. I have extremely vivid memories of my first trip to Jamaica (about 20 years ago), which include a number of shark incidents, and a massive red snapper scaring the *!@£ out of seven-year old me, as it decided to swim around my legs and proceed to nibble (because I was next to the seaweed?).

The waters around the island of Jamaica are full of coral reefs. Jamaican waters are rich with colourful sea creatures. I snorkelled in open waters, for the first time in my life, in an area near to Ocho Rios, on the north coast of the island. This was such a fun, fascinating and surprisingly liberating experience. Underwater camera in hand, I managed to capture some of what I was exploring. It’s another world down there!

I stayed in a beautiful resort near Montego Bay, and include here some of the photos I took of the sea life in and around the beach there. I wonder if the London Aquarium would be proud hehe! 🙂

00420012 00420015 00420016 00420017 00420018 00420019

IMG_1459 IMG_1460 IMG_1627 IMG_1632 IMG_1642 IMG_1647 IMG_1651 IMG_1653

One thought on “Underwater Adventures – Jamaica

  1. Pingback: ~ Sink or Swim ~ | From guestwriters

Leave a Reply

