Homemade Yorkshire Puds

It’s only Wednesday, and my mind is already drifting towards Sunday. I keep asking myself what I want to cook for this week’s Sunday lunch. It is tradition in England, and in my family, to have a roast lunch or dinner on a Sunday. I grew up looking forward to my mum’s yummy roast chicken, my grandmother’s delicious roast potatoes and the massive fluffy yorkshire puddings you tend to now get in gastropubs. This is already making me hungry.

Last Sunday, I made a delicious roast leg of lamb (on the bone so puppy could enjoy it too!). Let’s just say that it went down very well and I am thoroughly pleased with my efforts. It was a race weekend, with the early starting Korean GP. As soon as the race finished I started prepping and cooking the lunch, only to find myself twiddling my thumbs at about 2pm because I had done everything… only to realise that guests were coming for 5pm, not the 3pm I expected. *grrrr* At least the lamb was slowly cooked, resulting in a very soft, succulent, melt-in-your-mouth roast.

I do like yorkshire puddings, and for some reason have always bought the frozen puddings from Betty Crocker. This feels like an embarrassing public confession, but let’s be honest… they are actually pretty good. I suppose it is more convenient to buy them ready… less washing up, less preparation, fewer ingredients etc. But where’s the satisfaction in that? I had always unfairly assumed that making yorkshire puddings would be a little complicated and therefore unnecessary. When I planned to make my own yorkshires, I expected it to be a tricky thing to master. So I went into this with a relaxed attitude, telling myself “nothing ventured nothing gained”. Boy was I wrong?! I feel like a fool 😦 Yorkshire puddings are incredibly easy to make, so why on earth buy them ready made? Why on earth didn’t anyone tell me this before?

With a little love and attention, you can make delicious yorkshire puddings at home, and incorporate them into your roast dinners. Watching the pudding crowns rise in the oven is very satisfying too! 😉

Here is the simple recipe I used… Give it a go!

Ingredients

200g plain flour

3 eggs

300ml skimmed milk

4 tbsp vegetable oil

Sea salt & freshly ground pepper

12 hole muffin tray

Method

– Place the flour in a bowl and add your seasoning.

– Add the eggs one at a time; blend the egg through the mix thoroughly, before adding the next one.

– Add the milk slowly and gently whisk until it becomes a smooth batter.

– Chill for at least 30 minutes (mine was in the fridge for a couple of hours).

– Remove from the fridge (at least 10 minutes) before using.

– Oven temperature: 220 C

–  Pour the oil into the muffin holes, then place in the hot oven for approx. 5 minutes.

– Remove the tray from the oven, and pour the batter evenly into the moulds.

– Bake for approximately 30 minutes until the crowns have risen out of their moulds, and until golden/brown.

– Do not disturb the baking process. Try to prevent opening the oven door too many times (if at all).

– Serve with gravy (optional). These will also keep for a few days in the fridge, IF there are any leftover!

IMG_8440

IMG_8442

Easy peasy! I hope you enjoy these, I’m looking forward to making them again very soon!

Bon appetit! 😀

2 thoughts on “Homemade Yorkshire Puds

  1. Pingback: My Messy Take on a Victoria Sponge Cake | emilyhambi

  2. Pingback: 286/365: National Yorkshire Pudding Day | Eat My Words

Leave a Reply

